Law areas

English Legal System | The Principles

By December 3, 2017 September 24th, 2019 No Comments
english legal system

English Legal system

One of the broad areas of study we cover are within the English legal system. If you want to be a great lawyer, you need to have everything at your fingertips when advocating for your clients. Law is not a course that you can pass over just for the sake of passing exams and get a certificate. If there are some areas that you did not understand during your studies, it could ruin your career, and you may never find a job. The help of a law tutor London will do you good by making your studies easy.

The UK is made up of four countries namely Wales, England, Northern Ireland and Scotland. Some laws apply to the four countries while some apply to some parts of UK. The sources of the English Legal System are;


This is the law created by the legislature which is the UK parliament. It is based in the UK, and it is the only body that can pass laws that apply to the entire UK. The body is made up of the House of Commons and the House of Lords. The Scottish Parliament, National Assembly of Wales and Northern Ireland Assembly have the supremacy to pass laws on particular matters, but the law will only be applied in the country where it was passed.

Common law

The legal system of Wales and England is a common law; therefore, the decisions made by the senior appellate courts become part of the legal system.

European Union Law

Since UK is a member state of EU, then EU can control or take precedence over the law of UK.

The European Convention on human rights

Since the UK is a Member State of the Council of Europe, it is a participant of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR). It helps the UK to defend the rights as stated in the ECHR.

To learn and understand more about the English Legal System, contact us for assistance. We are among the most recognised law tutors London, and you can be assured that you will get the best tutorial.